Yellowstone 2011

When my three brothers and I were young, our grandparents took us, two at a time, on a road trip to Yellowstone National Park for vacation. The first time I went I was six years old and so amazed. My half a dozen feeble years had nothing on the mature landscapes that surrounded me, and I knew it.
Along with basically growing up in the Central Utah mountains, this was one of those adventures where I was allowed and able to truly connect with the environment we live in. Though I was a very young child, I remember being in the back of the very familiar white and tan Ford Bronco as it was surrounded by a herd of bison. I remember the grand  and ever-so-timely eruption of Old Faithful as it spewed earthen water nearly 200 feet into the air for what seemed an impossible amount of time. This place is somewhere you can see some of Earth’s inner workings on the surface. It is completely invaluable and underrated.
Years after my first Yellowstone experience, when I was coming up on my sophomore year of college, we decided to do another trip without splitting up this time. We packed up the Tahoe and were off. At the time, I wouldn’t say I’d really discovered my passion for photography yet and all I had was a little Sony point and shoot. As I as going through trying to decide what my first post should be, I settled on these photos from that trip in 2011. I’m still on the search for most of them as these were from the very last day of our trip. When I find them I will do an additional post which will also include some from Grandma Reha herself and OG photos from the ’98 trip.
I love how jaunting the whiteness of the water is against the rocks and pines.

 

Divisions…

 

This photo reminds me of something you’d see on a vintage travel brochure. Not my typical style but for some reason I like it. Maybe the long walkway coupled with the different landscapes on either side. Maybe the movement in the clouds and water. Probably a little of both.

 

Crystal clear and gorgeous blues.
The following photos are from Jenny Lake at the base of the Grand Tetons in Wyoming.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Here is a little poem I wrote with the park in mind:
The rush and tumble of water through canyons and crevices thousands of years in the making,
Steam rising from the bubbling water of geothermal pools up into the cool crisp morning air,
Meeting the sun in the middle to warm the Earth for this day.
Vivid color within the pools and reflected on their surfaces
Blue skies and scattered cotton candy clouds
Soft Earth and wooden walkway beneath trekking feet
Whiffs of pine, dirt, water, freshness with every intake of breath.
The essence of the Earth can be felt here.
If desired it may be openly received, commanding respect and connection.
Life felt.
-BDG
Leave a Reply

